I-Podding

Shannon Says:
Interesting add (American Graffiti)! So why did you delete the Black Crowes?

As far as American Graffiti, it’s a good mine of oldies that I can still listen to. We went to Incredible Pizza last week and they have a “Diner” section that plays oldies over the stereo, and it got me listening to some of the classics again. I didn’t want to have to pick and choose individual songs from my own memory – American Graffiti does that for me.

As far as the Black Crowes – If I could be a band, I would be the Black Crowes. The Freak N Roll album is great, but I played it out over about two months, and if I didn’t get rid of it, I’d never move on to anything new (like the oldies). Can’t shake the live version of Hard To Handle from Freak N Roll and have listened now so many times to the exclusion of anything else that it was time to go cold turkey.

3 Responses to “I-Podding”

  1. Shannon Says:

    You have made me want to go back and listen to the Black Crowes again. I haven’t paid much attention to them since the mid-90’s but I’m kinda excited to add to my iPod the album you just deleted. What to buy, what to buy… every time I go to iTunes I can’t decide. Today I see the new Weezer album and now this… I remember (back in the olden days of the 90s) going to record stores and having the same problem. I never did a very good job of limiting myself then. I can keep it two one or two albums at a time these days.

    Oldies are fun with the kids. Molly enjoys dancing around to the early Beatles.

  2. pelee Says:

    Yeah, I think Tommy sent us a picture of Molly dancing around to the early Beatles, right? 🙂

    Love the Black Crowes.

  3. pelee Says:

    On some NPR show today, there was a writer discussing Duke Ellington. There was constant discussion of that music being “symbolic of the time” and the question was raised whether we have music that is as representative these days. They had a music critic on and his strongest suggestion was Gnarls Barkley. I can’t remember the others, but that one stands out.

    I believe Frank Sinatra was mentioned as the same sort of icon for his heyday.

Leave a Reply

