Yo Toe (jam)

That’s a trip about Money and Cigarettes, but it’s in the bargain bin of my CD collection. I’m waiting for Sirius/XM to crank up an all Eric Clapton channel so that I can just listen at leisure without having to scroll through what I have, or make agonizing purchasing decisions re: Clapton. Worse of all, having to download a copy of “Don’t Thinktwice, I’ts Alright” by Eric Clampton off of Limewire.

Dylan, yeah, I think he’s overrated. I think his stuff is great, don’t get me wrong, and his first few albums are awesome, but I don’t think they merit a mythological reputation. On the other hand, I’m a dyed in the wool blues fan, so songwriting is not really the most aesthetically pleasing thing to me. I’m a much bigger fan of instrumental virtuosos, so I guess that’s where my disconnect with the Dylan thing comes from. Probably the same reason I don’t listen to the Beatles that much either.

As far as Prince, I wish I could turn you on to some of his stuff the same way you want me to be converted by “In My Time of Dyin.” To this day I can listen to some Prince stuff and get that strange head rush/goose bumps thing that happens from time to time.

Cotto v. Margarito??? I don’t think I’ve missed a broadcast fight in 6 years, thanks to the magic of TiVo. I wish you had asked me before, because I had picked Margarito to win, unlike many others, but there’s no way to prove it now. That kind of fight is the reason I love boxing, and blow $400+ dollars a year on pay per views. Dad and I watched Manny Pacquiao fight a few weeks ago, and that was one of the most spectacular displays of boxing I’ve seen in a long time. There are rumblings that DeLaHoya is going to fight his last fight in December against either Pacquiao, Margarito, or Cotto, and in each case DLH gets beaten up in an ugly way. It’s a shame MMA gets the press, cause I’ve watched these guys hump each other for 15 minutes while they throw punches that Bud Schulberg would call “unartistic,” and it seems like a pretend sort of violence to me. Cotto/Margarito was brutal and beautiful at the same time. My heart was racing the entire fight. Love it love it love it. Keep your eyes open for Roy Jones to stand astride the Pound for Pound rankings come November, by the way. Watch this blog for updates.

To end up, I can’t account for Clapton’s career, really. Sometimes I’m not even sure if I like him or not, but he’s a solid place to go when I’m not sure what I want to listen to.

3 Responses to “Yo Toe (jam)”

  1. toe Says:

    10-4, brah…well said. I can get with all that.

  2. toe Says:

    in re fight: I haven’t seen it, only heard about it, felt bad I missed it. After reading your description, I regret it. Problem is staying awake past 8 these days.

  3. aljamieson Says:

    I tried to find clips on YouTube, but HBO seems to have gotten into the lawsuit biz.

Leave a Reply

